McKinley Black: Beggars, fools and thieves

Track listing

  1. High noon [ Sample... ]
  2. All I need [ Sample... ]
  3. Beggars, fools and thieves
  4. Hold on
  5. Mother
  6. Love like mine
  7. Bailinho da Maria [ Sample... ]
  8. Hunger
  9. Free [ Sample... ]
  10. Westwinds
  11. This train


McKinley Black's "Beggars, fools and thieves" is a major achievement for this American artist. A mix of pop, blues and a bit of gospel, accompanied by brilliant guitar work, makes this one of Stockfisch's top releases for 2011. With "Beggars, fools and thieves" the singer who for years has been living in Berlin has produced her first album for Stockfisch Records.

You can feel it from the moment this little woman with that enormous voice enters the stage that her art is deeply rooted in genuinely American musical genres. Is that air of vitality due to her Portuguese ancestry? The diversity of things she has done and places she has lived in has certainly influenced her biography as an artist. Highly energetic guitar playing, worldly wise lyrics, a sensuousness just under control – the sky over Berlin.

"Beggars, Fools and Thieves", is a title reminiscent of a medieval tale is one artist’s Luftbrücke – an airlift to the urban gospel of megalopolis: This train is bound for glory!


[ Format: SACD with CD layer, playable on any CD player ]

[ Cost: R210.00 ]

[ Product availability: Out of stock: available for order ]