Patrick O'Byrne: Ravel: Miroirs & Gaspard de la nuit

Patrick O'Byrne:  Ravel:  Miroirs & Gaspard de la nuit

Track listing

  • Miroirs
    1. Noctuelles
    2. Oiseaux tristes
    3. Une Barque sur l'ocean
    4. Alborada del gracioso
    5. La Vallee des cloches
  • Gaspard De La Nuit
    1. Ondine
    2. Le Gibet
    3. Scarbo


Patrick O'Byrne, internationally renowned pianist and professor of piano in Bremen, with an excellent recording of famous piano pieces from Maurice Ravel.

This recording has it all: Impressionistic sound to enjoy and savour... the quiet dreaminess of La Vallee des cloches - this symphony uses the whole sonic spectrum of bells and embodies this magnificent theme. Le Gibet evokes the sombre image of gallows at dusk.

This SACD release from Stockfisch displays the pianistic virtuosity to the highest degree, of which the Alborada del gracioso from "Miroir" and Ondine or Scarbo from "Gaspard de la nuit" are very fine examples. Miroirs and Gaspard de la nuit belong to the most difficult pieces ever written for piano. Maurice Ravel himself once said that overcoming technical problems is a form of art in itself. The exceptional musical quality of this recording once again delivered by Stockfisch seems to be superb proof of Ravel's statement.


[ Format: SACD with CD layer, playable on any CD player ]

[ Cost: R270.00 ]

[ Product availability: Out of stock: available for order ]